top of page
  • Layla XU

<I Am Sitting in the Room and Imagining Death>

Last year, I booked a ticket to return home in April. Due to the outbreak of Corona in London in March, the flight was cancelled. On the last day of April, I sat at my desk in the evening and couldn't remember what I was doing. I saw the message in the mobile phone that one of my dearest family members passed away. It was early morning in my hometown, almost no one woke up. I saw the message soberly from thousands of miles away, but there was nothing to do.

For the past two months, I have been staying in my small student hall in London, facing windows, chairs and showers. With these things in the room, I imagine the moon, wind, birds, rain... and now there is a distant funeral that I cannot participate in.


Medium:

Digital, colour pencil, gouache, water colour, acrylic


Exhibition information:

Jun -, 2020

Open Room Art Festival, China


Variations of colours and printings:


bottom of page