top of page
  • Layla XU

[Journal Vol.11] Keep Sketching: Shuan Tan, Mitsumasa Anno & Jockum Nordström

I started learning how to do a sketchbook mainly from these three artists. Shuan Tan, Mitsumasa Anno and Jockum Nordström. I know there is not standard of a good sketchbook, and I even shouldn’t mention ‘good’. However, I did feel confused what is my way to keep sketching.


Shuan Tan is so generous to share his sketches and ideas about sketches to all. In his book <The Bird King and Other Sketches>, he says: I find that good drawing requires conscientious effort: active research, careful observation of things around me, ongoing experimentation and reference-gathering, all of which exist ‘behind the scenes’. I really like his style. Pencil is an easy and quick way to take notes in daily life. In the meanwhile, pencil can make complicated marks. I should have enough patience to keep using one tool and exploring its potential.


Mitsumasa Anno’s life drawings are already completed works. On the opposite side (no bad meaning), Jockum Nordström’s completed works look like sketches. One of my tutors said, sometimes process can be outcome.


Besides them, there are two typical lecturers that I met in the VP talks of university. Russell Cobb and Chris Harper. Russell Cobb has so many notebooks and keeps filling up every page. Chris Harper, more like the way I work, tend to use separate paper, making yourself feel less stress.


There is one point in common. They all work very hard, try many many times, finally figure out what is the best way for them. No one will not admire hard-working. And as long as you work hard, you will find your comfortable way to achieve what you want.


I started my street observational drawing for a while now.

--------------------------

Tan, S. (2011). The Bird King and Other Sketches. Dorking: Templar Publishing.

安野光雅、松岡和子。(1998)。「繪本 シェイクスピア劇場」。東京:講談社

bottom of page