top of page
  • Layla XU

[Journal Vol.4] New Attempts: Outside the School

At the same time as attending the workshops in school, I found it a good practice to follow some specific themes from outside. Since it’s not easy to accept commissions so far, I actively took part in some competitions at this period. One is for opening my mind, not just stay in the zone that I’m comfortable and familiar with; one is for practicing new materials and techniques especially computer software.


Also, I will skip most procedures for they are not focused on the subject of my MA study.


Seasonal Circus (Final Shortlist of Festive Wrap and Gift Tag Competition for not just a shop, University of the Arts London)


Sunrise in Heluo (a series of postcards design for Heluo Culture)

Untitled (a poster for Hubei Provincial Museum)


Cheers (a modern beachfront living series)

Untitled (with local workshop in UK)



The following two are actually old work (and they used to be trash in my hard disk). I dig them out and reassessed them.


Spring Snow (exhibited in Shanzhongqi Art Gallery, Fuzhou, China)


Rice Blessing (exhibited in Camberwell Student Gallery, London, UK)


bottom of page