top of page
  • Layla XU

[Journal Vol.6] How many ideas can you generate within 5 minutes?

It’s a pity that I didn’t obtain much information during the Skillz Week of the uni. The chaos of schedule, sigh-up, too many students, late notice… I did drop in some workshops but I was low-productive. The outcome is miserable and I found I didn't take any usable photos...


At the last week of the first term, we’ve got an editorial workshop held by one of our tutors. This is the warming-up practice. We did several twenty-second drawings for the theme ‘LOVE’. Sometimes the tutor gave us hints like ‘what if love is an animal…?’ ‘what if love is food…?’ When I was doing this, some poetic (?) sentences kept jumping out of my mind. I wrote them down immediately when I got home just in case I forget:

Love is holding your hand; letting you go. Love is something makes you blush; something makes you cry. Love is leaning against each other. Love is sunrise. Love is a rose in the desert. Love is ‘the moon is beautiful tonight’.

Love is no matter what kind of race you are. Love is an umbrella on a rainy day. Love is panda, even you got bags under your eyes, they always admire you as the cutest creature in the world. Love is the end of a long long tunnel. Love is the first bite of an ice cream. Love is as simple as just being together. Love is a fork full of noodles. Love is when a square meal is ready. Love is the moment you put your hand into the gift box.


Another warming-up practice with the theme ‘DEATH’. I made ‘love’ first with a single pencil. When I got some experience, I tried with colour pencils. It’s exactly after that that I realised it’s better to exchange the tools according to the theme.

Death is red. Death is dry land. Death is ‘gone with the wind’.

Death is a piece of bread overdue. Death is a cigarette. Death is a chair without a leg. Death is sunset. Death is slabstone in the church. Death is grave in the forest. Death is a cup falling down. Death is a broken boot. Death is a cello with forever silence. Death is flies on the meal. Death is a pair of broken glasses (never need to see anything any more). Death is endless rain.


I’m quite satisfied with this two pieces. But when it came to the official theme as ‘Black Hole’, to create a cover for the magazine <New Scientist>, I spent two hours to gain the following image, which is really not like what I expected. Well, let's say, things happen.

The idea is black hole is something even you grab it tightly it still can run away. Besides, since it's cover design, I faked some passage titles which look like being absorbed by the black hole.

bottom of page